Skip to content

Madison, WI

May 31, 2010

We left Fermilab at about noon and the next stop was to visit my cousin Glenn in Madison. Once again, the scale of things out here–especially when looking at maps–made it seem like it took forever to get where we were going. We located Glenn’s house at about 4:00 and relaxed a bit before dinner catching up on family news that had accumulated over the almost 20 years since we’d last seen one another. Glenn and his wife Clare took us to dinner at their favorite Italian restaurant (Lombardino’s in case you’re ever there). The food was excellent, the decor unique with beautiful tile work inside and out.

Sebastian had left his ID back at the house and we learned about a second weird law. In Wisconsin, a minor accompanied by a parent may be served alcohol by the establishment as long as the child is clearly over the age of 10. We were not asked to establish parentage. Glenn and I explored the differences between Cognac, Grand Marnier, and one of my Dad’s favorites C&C (Cognac and Cointreau). I prefered the less sweet C&C. We got a somewhat late start the next morning after breakfast at a local spot (I want to say it was called Mikes, but I can’t remember. Maybe Glenn will correct me.)

-Peter

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Sky Cole permalink
    May 31, 2010 8:31 pm

    Darn. I meant to have you pick up some espresso at Ancora’s while you were in Madison. They make half a dozen different blends not counting de-caf (and why would I count de-caf). And as I would want only 3/4 pound of each, that would a be mere four pounds; hardly anything.

    But come to think of it, the coffee would be a month old or more by the time I got it. So nevermind; don’t turn back on my account.

  2. Cousin Glenn permalink
    May 31, 2010 10:55 pm

    Peter, it was great to see you and Sebastion and to allow the outside world to know how easy we here in Wisconsin want it to be for you and your children to drink alcohol. The campus breakfast joint was Mickies, but close enough for a man who sampled virtually the entire universe of French cognacs and liqueurs the night before.

  3. Barb Smick permalink
    June 2, 2010 5:08 pm

    Madison always reminds me of Vics wedding that we all sort of missed but got to before it was
    all over after all. I do remember of eventually getting to Glenn & Claires and meeting their Siamese. It sounds like they rolled out the red carpet for a couple of dirty old bums. With
    love your Mom. Keep reporting I do so enjoy my trip.

Leave a Reply

